He says, she says – Sri Lanka

2 December – 23 December           
21 days

Places visited: Colombo, Kandy, Sigiriya, Nuwara Eliya, Ella, Tissamaharama, Mirissa, Unawatuna, Hikkaduwa

Most favourite place:
Charlie: my favourite place was Ella, set up in the mountains with beautiful panoramic mountain views and vivid colours everywhere you look. The drive from Nuwara Eliya to Ella is stunning.
Lisa: Ella was amazing. I loved being up in the mountains and seeing all the tea plantations. Every day we had there was filled with the most beautiful views!

Least favourite place:
Charlie: Fpr me it’s Tissamaharama, for no other reason that we didn’t get to see much of it as we only stayed one night. There’s no reason other than that we didn’t get a real feel for the place.
Lisa: Unawatuna was a bit of a disappointment for me. I’d heard good things about it from others however it just felt a bit too touristy but also very souless. There wasn’t much of a vibe there and having come from Mirissa (my second favourite place) I wished I’d just stayed there longer instead.

Most favourite dish:
Charlie: It’s got to be Daal curry. I couldn’t get enough of it! It’s a lentil based dish and it’s really hot and miss wether you’ll get a good one but when you did, it was delicious.
Lisa: Rotti Rotti Rotti! They have stuffed rotti with all of the best things. Vegetables, choc banana, chicken, cheese and garlic – what more could you want? An avocardo rotti you say? Well they’ve got that too!

Best experience:
Charlie: aside from the ability to drive ourselves around at our own leisure with the tuk tuk, my favourite experience was climbing the peak of Little Adams Peak. The views from the top of the surrounding mountains are beautiful!
Lisa: Having our own tuk tuk! It was literally the best decision we made. The freedom of travel and the extra things we saw because of it was priceless. It’s going to be hard to travel without one now.

Worst experience:
Charlie: This isn’t about Sri Lanka so much but it has to be the hotel we stayed in first of all in Ella. The room seemed fine but we soon realised the shower only worked if you put the shower head on the floor (weird). I had to fill a small glass with warm water from the floor shower and use that to splash myself clean. Also the wifi was switched off as the owner didn’t want the room next door to have the password
Lisa: We didn’t really have any terrible experiences but I guess my awkward conversation with the owner of Waves Inn 2 in Hikkaduwa wasn’t great. He really didn’t appreciate my view on his accommodation and I didn’t really appreciate his view on me by the end of it but it all worked out in the end.

Something you will miss:
Charlie: I’ll miss our beloved tuk tuk. The fact we could just load up and go at any time meant we did so much more than we would have without it. Sri Lanka is my favourite country I’ve visited ever so I’m gonna miss the whole place!
Lisa: the rotti, the tuk tuk and the landscapes… in no particular order.

Something you won’t miss:
Charlie: although neither of us got bitten particularly bad or frequently, I won’t miss the mosquitoes (who would?) they seemed to be able to get anywhere including inside our nets. We’d spent 10 minutes every night clapping in our room trying to get them.
Lisa: I am really searching for something here but I guess I won’t miss the varied prices. Each place seemed to be different from the one before. Some places we went it was easy to come across cheap food and other places the same food would cost double and usually not be as good. Same goes for accommodation really, mostly they were great for the price we paid however some places we went we really struggled to find similar priced accommodation that we were comfortable staying in. Usually moving out of the main area or just spending a few pounds more a night quickly solved this though.

Leave a Reply

